In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

People are consuming a lot of crime-related content whether it is through books or tv shows. In this essay, I will discuss two possible reasons for the increasing of this type of entertainment as well as give my opinion regarding it. First and foremost, current books and shows about crime are made to appear extremely realistic to the audience which makes them very appealing. Therefore, it very likely that people enjoy watching this kind of content because they can relate to the stories that are being displayed on tv. For instance, there are several shows which portray crime in an everyday life context, such as Law and Order. Moreover, the writers and showbusiness companies seem to have realized that this type of entertainment is lucrative, which made them invest more money in this business. As an illustration of this, researches have shown that the quantity of shows and books about felonies has skyrocketed in the last ten years. Personally, I think that crime-related novels and dramas are interesting and fun to watch, however this content can be disturbing to certain people[LS2]. Furthermore, children should be allowed to watch this material because they are not mature enough to experience it, which can lead, ultimately, to trauma. For instance, my nephew who is ten years old watched CSI episodes on tv and developed serious panic attacks which made it impossible for him even to go out on the streets. Hence, I believe that shows and books about crime must have an age restriction. In conclusion, it seems to me that the popularity regarding this new kind of entertainment has risen because it is very relatable as well as the showbusiness industry started to invest massively when they realized it is very lucrative. My opinion is that crime-related novels and dramas are interesting, nonetheless should be seen only by adults.