More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that organisations are offering options to their working force to perform work at home. I believe it is a positive trend because of the several benefits, which are discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, this development of attending offices from home has myriad merits. First and foremost, It has improved the work-life balance of the employees because they spend more time at their home. Owing to this, It is more likely for them that quality time can be devoted to the family. Moreover, this trend is especially beneficially for those, whose family is living far away from their working sites. Thus, this option of working from home has proven to be conducive for the employees in strengthening the bond between the family members. In addition, companies allow their workers to complete the tasks from home in order to save vital resources which can eventually reduce their expenditure. To explain, when employees work from home, spendings on electricity, rents and other services can be saved. To illustrate, during the lockdown in corona pandemic, since employees were not allowed to attend the offices due to enforced protocols by the government, many multinational companies in Silicon Valley, California, have decreased their expenditure up to 20% on the services given to employees in the offices. Yet another benefit of this development is that problem of traffic congestion can be tackled. It is generally seen in metro cities that traffic surged at peak hours because employees commute to their workplaces at that particular time. If they are allowed to access their systems, numbers of vehicles on the road can be reduced and traffic jams can be tackled. To cite an example, the government of France is even exempting certain taxes on the organisations so that this policy of work from home can be promoted to reduce cars on the roads. This approach has resulted in decreasing traffic jams by 40% in Paris. To conclude, this new trend among the organisations to allow their employees is a positive development in terms of boosting work-life balance among workers, saving money for the employers as well as resolving the problem of traffic jams in metro cities.