Surveys show that in many countries, people are living longer but increased life expectancy has many implications for the aging individuals and society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

In this contemporary epoch, with the tremendous advancements in medical science, human life expectancy has increased significantly. However, there are many consequences of these and this essay will shed light on the impacts of this trend on the ageing people and society. To commence with, science has provided us with a remedy for almost every disease ranging from minor fever to a deadly illness like cancer. Back in the days, many people would die because of ailments and this had kept the average survival age pretty low as compared to what it is now. For example, in the past couple of decades, the average living age has increased from 56 to 80 years. Moreover, many institutions for the old have also opened up to care for them as the young cannot spare time for the old. Needless to say, this increased lifespan has some visible effects on society as a whole. Firstly, the families of the old need to make sure that they care for their parents and are available for them which can sometimes become a hassle. Secondly, even though medication has increased the number of years for a person to live, the productivity of the person towards the society is negligible and thus they remain like a burden on the family and society. In conclusion, the progress in the field of medicines is noteworthy. But, I feel that the young generation is incapable to give a better living to the old amid their fast-paced life. This has a detrimental effect on the ageing members as well as society.