Television is dangerous because it destroys family life and any sense of community; instead of visiting people or talking with our family we just watch television. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Ever since television became a core part of family life nearly 70 years ago, its usage has been the target of various attacks. While some people have focused on the physical or mental effects, I strongly concur with one of the most prevalent arguments about televisions decimating our sense of family and community since they discourage communication. On the one hand, there is little doubt that in moderation, TV can keep or even strengthen social connections as people can use it as a common topic to talk about. Unfortunately, television is rarely watched in moderation, which means its effects on social relationships are highly damaging. For example, rather than spending an evening socializing or doing some other social activity, the average family watches three hours of TV. That is to say, it adds up to twenty-one hours over the course of a week, which is nearly an entire day’s worth of time in front of the television that could have been spent interacting with the family or community. This acts as a stimulus for rising tensions and distances among one's social circles, in turn diminishing an individual's sense of community. On the other hand, it is also feasible to observe the serious repercussions of excessive TV usage by comparing it to other potential alternative activities like outdoor activities or even board games. Similar to television, these activities are primarily for entertainment purposes. However, both open-air pursuits and board games tend to be incredibly social and are almost an antithesis of quiet TV time. Thus, not only do we spend a long time watching television on average, but this type of leisure pursuit is also replacing more social forms of entertainment that would be better at establishing healthy relationships. In conclusion, as a tremendous amount of time is spent watching TV yearly instead of participating in social activities, I believe that the attacks on TV for impairing our social relations are justified. If we want to preserve our family and community bonds better in the future, we had better start searching for ways to remedy this pressing problem.