Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern society, undergraduates are required to have the abilities in multiple aspects in order to adapt to the fierce labor market. Some students pay attention to expand their skills besides the school curriculum, while others suppose that they should invest their precious time and effort for a degree. From my perspective, both have their merits for some reasons mentioned in the essay. On the one hand, it is obvious that beside the core subjects, students should acquire a lot of other things during their time at university. First of all, there are various skills that are extremely essential when people are in an apprenticeship or officially work for any company. In fact, some of my colleagues are excellent at specialized knowledge but have a poor work performance in the professional environment because of the lack of soft skills such as time management or problem solving,... In addition, the curriculum in most universities aim to provide students with fundamental knowledge and the ability of self-learning. Therefore, they need to discover and study deeper on what they are fond of by themself. On the other hand, earning a certification on time is still a priority for undergraduates. Firstly, the study program is already heavy itself and there are a lot of subjects in a semester and each has its own strict requirements to get a good score. As a result, if students are distracted by extracurricular activities, they are likely to fall behind with study. Moreover, most people feel discouraged easily when most of their peers have graduated. To illustrate, many of my seniors at school have quit on the degree as they still have some unfinished subjects and could not find any motivation when participating in class with their juniors. In conclusion, although getting the qualification is essential, I still hold a firm belief that it is crucial for students to spend time on other skills and knowledge during university so that they can be well-prepared for the future career.