Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Eventhough the number of people who get the news online are increasing, newspapers will continue to be the most significant source of information. This essay disagrees with this statement, because reading news on electronic devices is more convenient and it’s not environmentally beneficial to make newspapers. First of all, reading news online is way more convenient than reading them on paper. Nowadays, literally every person has electronic gadgets like smartphones, laptops etc, where they can access the latest news with one click. For example, popular news outlets like The New York Times, Washington Post and Financial Times are all available online for just around 5 dollars per month. It means that people can read news anywhere at any time without being forced to look for the closest newspaper shack. At the same time, producing newspapers is not efficient from an ecological standpoint. Production of newspapers requires a lot of paper, which in turn requires a lot of trees. It means that we would be cutting down more trees just to make enough newspapers for people. Cutting down trees can lead to major ecological consequences such as destruction of biodiversity, deforestation and climate change. That’s why a lot of news agencies have chosen not to use papers and instead moved fully online. Some examples of such corporations are The Guardian, BBC and Wall Street Journal. People can still read news and stay up to date. In conclusion, I completely disagree that electronic news sources will be obsolete in the future, because reading news online is more comfortable and doesn’t harm the environment.