Shopping has become a favorite pastime among young people. Why do you think it is like that? Do you think they must be encouraged to do other things rather than shopping?

In the contemporary epoch, one of the favourite pastime, especially among youth worldwide is shopping. This essay will shed light on some of the primary causes of this behaviour and evaluate some other activities that can be more fruitful for the youth over shopping. Firstly, with the advancements in technology, one can buy any item of their choice from any corner of the world with a click of a button. The countless options for making payments and the seamless delivery experience for our favourite products double the joy of purchasing. Secondly, the default location for people to spend their time is shopping malls which provide a one shop stop for various activities like purchasing groceries, getting a relaxing massage or having a chat with a buddy over coffee. Moreover, the outlets in the malls ensure that they grab eyeballs of the store passerby's with lucrative deals on the merchandise. Needless to say, with an increase in the spending power of the people year over year, purchasing any item no longer is given a second thought anymore. However, it is very important for young people to participate in activities and spend their time wisely in things that are productive. Furthermore, it is crucial to spend some time to exercise daily to stay fit. For instance, a walk in the nearby garden for an hour can fill our lungs with fresh oxygen and rejuvenate our mind as well. One should make sure to spend some time with their loved ones to keep healthy relationships which is a rare sight these days. In addition to this, it is important to pursue a hobby like reading, pottery or cooking which is more productive and rewarding as well. In conclusion, it is important for the youth to engage their time doing activities that add value to their life and to society. Indeed, shopping can be enjoyed as a pastime for fulfilling our heart's desire, however, care should be taken to not overdo it and ignore other meaningful activities in life.