Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is commonly believed that online social media has impacted people and the community we live in adversely. In my opinion, I think this is true especially when it comes to children and teenagers. A sedentary lifestyle is one of the most prominent effects that can be seen in many young adults and children due to overuse of websites such as Facebook and Instagram. In other words, the digital media has created a new culture of sitting and looking at one's screen for an invariably long time leading to an overall deterioration in one's fitness and activity level. Before these sites were invented, kids would go out in the park or at one of their friend’s house to play. The adults would usually spend their social time talking over the phone or visiting their folks in person. As a result of these activities, everyone would keep active both physically and mentally. Another worse effect that the increased screen time on Facebook has brought is the feeling of competition amongst adults. That is to say, people are indulging too much in showing off what they have or what they know others wish for. For instance, on the occasion of a family get together everyone is more focused on clicking sumptuous food pictures and posting them on their wall instead of making a conversation with another family member whom they have met after a long time. Consequently, they spend less meaningful time with each other and worry more about how their life looks to the outer world. In conclusion, while Facebook and other similar platforms were aimed to connect people, they have gradually proved to bring an opposite outcome for the world and community we belong to.