Some people think certain prisoners should be made to set up unpaid community work, instead of just being put behid the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that some convicts should be sentenced with unpaid community work rather than punishing them with jail sentences. This essay agrees with the statement. Firstly, minor crimes should be given only community tasks as a punishment and secondly, rehabilitation is the better option for some criminals. To begin with, people who commit minor crimes, can be punished with a community jobs that are not paid. This is to say that the offences are very minor, that they are not worth sentencing prison time. Moreover, when anyone goes into prison they are labelled as a serious criminals and this might destroy their life even with as much as little time in prison like 2 months. For example, minor charges such as theft and scam can be fined with some time in community programmes such as cleaning parks and planting plants in the public gardens. This allows the convicts to learn a valuable lesson in life and at the same time the community is benefited. On the other hand, rehabilitation is the best option for some law-breakers. In other words, when the offencers offenders offences are sentenced to several years in prison, their attitude towards the justice system is degraded. These individuals when they come out from prison after a long time, they find it difficult in rehabilitating in the society, and thus there is a high risk that they will re-offend soon. To exemplify, If criminals are made mandatory to engage in community service, they will not feel disconnected from the society and it will be easy for them to re-engage as a contributing member. In conclusion, selected prisoners can be asked to complete an unpaid community service than putting them behind bars because some crimes are minor offences that do not deserve prison time and rehabilitation might be a best option to stop the pattern of re-offending after jail sentences.