Some people think certain prisoners should be made to set up unpaid community work, instead of just being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as treatment of the prisoners, especially for the past few decades. Although, there is substantial debate whether prisoners should be kept behind bars or they should do unpaid community work. I am of the opinion that the latter proposition has several strong elements that deserve attention. Primarily, by making prisoners work for the community, prisons can help offenders make a fresh start in life. Besides, interaction with the community plays a key role in the socialisation of criminals. Furthermore, by doing community work, prisoners can get a chance to understand the contrast between good and bad. Also, psychologists show many examples where interaction with community and work for the community will create a great impact on human psychology. Needless to say, all these merits stand in good stead as far as prisoners change is concerned. Admittedly, it is true that few extremely dangerous criminals should be kept away from society. On the one hand, these notorious criminals are very harmful to society moreover, allowing them to work might be extremely dangerous. On the other, prisoners who do regular crimes will be benefited by doing voluntary work for the community. Not only can prisoners develop work habits and skills that will help them to get a job after they got released, but also the local community can get benefited from their work. For example, some prisoners work in facility services such as the kitchen, laundry, cleaning, maintenance and gardening which are much-needed skills for the community. In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, one can not only identify the importance of making prisoners for community work, but also understand why it is a better treatment than keeping criminals behind the prison.