Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this contemporary society, every year a couple of languages cease to exist. As a result, some individuals believe that this is a positive thing because life would be much simpler if there were fewer languages. However, I completely disagree with this view and will explain in detail my viewpoint further in the essay. Firstly, languages conserve customs and culture of any nation and play a significant part in the formation of nations. Therefore, the conservation of languages would be crucial owing to the fact that they preserve the experiences of all generations in the past and with the disappearance of such knowledge, we could lose some valuable information about our history. One such example is the discovery of America, which resulted in the enforcement of European languages to the natives. As a result of this, many ancient American civilizations are a mystery for scientists even to this day. Secondly, it is well known that language plays a pivotal role in science as it serves as a way of preserving information. Hence, the extinction of languages would hinder the international development of science, because with a lost language, people also lose data that were collected throughout its existence. For instance, with the Roman takeover of Egypt, Ancient Egyptian became extinct and much knowledge about Egyptian medicine was lost hindering the development of the world at that time. In conclusion, considering all the previously mentioned information, the role of languages is pivotal. With the disappearance of this, we would lose the customs and culture of many nations, also scientific knowledge will be also lost that was collected throughout human history.