living in a country where you have to speak a foreign languages can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Residing in a non-native place where one has to communicate in unfamiliar languages can be challenging for one's social and daily life. In my opinion, this is definitely true especially in the case of elderly people who may find it difficult to learn & adapt to the new language completely. To start with, some foreign languages can be really difficult to speak and understand and it may take years for an individual to get him comfortable with. During this time, the person may find it challenging to socialize in the way he used to at his native place which may discourage him altogether to meet people often. As a result, his social life gets hampered and he may end up being lonely or in depression. Secondly, a lack of knowledge in a language that is native to a country can cause one trouble in comprehending the intentions, choices, thoughts and overall personality of local people correctly which may bring a feeling of disconnect in them for such people. In other words, people may resort to not mingle with the locals and choose to avoid them at their disposal. For example, people at their workplace are often seen to hang out in different groups with locals and other people which creates an unhealthy space for human growth and development. Finally, many people who are unable to communicate effectively in the local language can face problems in doing their basic chores and following their daily routine like reaching a specific place or say ordering some food. This can prove to be frustrating and time-wasting for the individual which may lower his desire to reside in the foreign country. In conclusion, I think it is extremely important to learn and effectively communicate in the local language of the country a person is residing in so as to have a smooth personal and social life.