Some people think the government should not spend on international aid because there are disadvantaged people in their country, such as the unemployed and homeless. Do you agree or disagree?

In the past years, the population rate has grown at an alarming rate across the globe. This has given rise to leading problems such as poverty, unemployment and illiteracy. Few believe that the governing body should not provide financial assistance to the nations across the border because there are underprivileged people in their own country. I completely agree with this statement that a country's own betterment should be first prioritized. To begin with, there are abundant reasons for which the authority should put efforts for the welfare of its own people. Apparently, the monetary resources are becoming scarce and many countries are already in debt. It is, therefore, imperative for a state to reserve its funds for the development and maintenance of its own institutions. Additionally, major steps such as providing free healthcare and shelter to the homeless can assist in boosting the social health of the society. Also, providing more employment opportunities will aid to decrease the ratio of poor in the territory. For example, during the pandemic of Coronavirus, the developed nation like America faced a huge financial loss due to which it was not in a position to provide help to the neighbouring countries, instead, it had to invest more in medical assistance for the well-being of its own country people. On the other hand, it is understandable and reasonable to donate money to the poorer nations as a gesture of basic human decency and humanity. For which a nation should firstly survey about the financial statistics and destitution ratios within the country. With reference to these figures, a decision can be made whether to help the developing countries. However, the countries receiving support are not committed to remaining loyal to the donor country in times of crisis. Hence the donor states also need to be aware of the fact that they contribute only their share and do not overdo the succour. To conclude, there are obvious benefits for the bureaucracy in the long run from donating money as relief aids to many foreign countries. However, I strongly iterate that the administration must first improve the economic, financial and employment prospects of its own people before embarking on humanitarian work abroad.