In some countries, some people are renting accommodation, while others are buying their own homes. Doe renting accommodation have more advantages or more disadvantages than buying a place?

Considering the price, some people prefer to rent a house than own a house. Moreover, buying a house has disadvantages such as high price and high maintenance whereas the advantages are privacy and investment. Due to this fact, I wholeheartedly agree that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of buying a house. On the one hand, the drawback of having our own place is it requires a lot of money. This is because the price of a building in some areas is quite expensive and people should prepare a cost to maintain the building because they will live in the house for a long time. In Yogyakarta, Indonesia, for instance, there is a region called Kaliurang in which the land prices are four times higher than any other region and maintenance fees are not included. As a result, people tend to rent accommodation rather than buying due to the high price. On the other hand, having our own property is such an investment and it guarantees our privacy. In addition, the increase in land and building prices is stable each year and it could be an opportunity. Moreover, having our own place will guarantee privacy as we manage our house by ourselves. In Jakarta, for example, people are buying properties in prestigious areas such as Pondok Indah and Senayan where the value increases significantly every year by up to 30% and these areas provide security and privacy guaranteed. Therefore, buying a house still benefits people in many ways rather than renting accommodation. To conclude, buying a house requires a reasonable cost to be prepared and a cost to maintain the building. However, buying a dwelling is an investment for the future because the price increases every year and our privacy is guaranteed. For these reasons, I recommend people to own their place rather than rent accommodation.