Nowadays, many people drive to work or school instead of walking, cycling or using public transport. Does this trend have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Some individuals prefer to go to school or work driving instead of opting to use other modes of transportation such as walking or cycling. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this development like the pollution it causes and the high cost outweigh the benefit of getting somewhere faster. The main drawback of using cars to go to work or school is that it greatly harms the environment. When people use their cars or motorcycles to get from one point to another they are burning fossil fuel which results in sometimes irreparable damages to the air everybody breaths and also the ozone layer contributing to global warming. Another disadvantage is the higher cost of this kind of transportation mode. Individuals have to spend a great amount of money to buy a car and the maintenance can also be quite expensive. Besides that, there are costs with taxes and insurance that should be taken into consideration. To illustrate, in Brazil people take huge loans in order to afford to buy and keep a car, which they could avoid if they choose another mean of transportation such as cycling which has close to zero costs. However, the advantage of getting where people need faster can be tempting. When one uses a car to move around they do not need to worry about leaving a long time in advance such as they would if they had to take a bus, for example. Consequently, people have more free time to enjoy or spend on their work or studies which can make a big difference in their lives. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that the drawbacks of driving to work or school such as harming the environment and having immense expenses are greater than the merit of getting to places faster.