Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit but others think there are more important issues that need attention before roads can be safe. Discuss both sides and provide your opinion.

In the modern world, the tendency to develop and evolve measures to reduce car accidents has seen a long-term gradual increase. While some argue that the most effective way is to introduce the limit of speed, others suggest a variety of options to tackle this complication. The following essay will examine both these views, and I will also explain why I think there is another critical problem. To begin with, one predominant nuance which contributes to the beneficial aspects of the speed level control is that humans can better react if they drive slower. To put it differently, state organisations usually set the acceptable limit of speed based on people's physical characteristics, so it allows to maintain the situation, where a human has the possibility to stop a car in case of emergency. As a case in point, in Russia, this measure was accepted by the government several years ago, and since this time the ideal speed for the best reaction has been set. Thus, this option has drastically reduced the level of car accidents on roads in the country. On the other hand, poor city planning should be taken into consideration, as it can negatively impact the health situation on roads. In other words, it is extremely important to shift state organisations' emphasis to the detailed planning of pedestrian paths, as their invalid location can potentially entail even more issues on the streets of megalopolises. To illustrate this, in case a pedestrian path has been placed in an area, which cannot be observed by a driver from an appropriate distance, even the control of speed level cannot probably prevent an accident. From my point of view, this factor should be considered with the highest priority because poor roads planning will adversely affect almost all measures to maintain safety on the streets. In conclusion, we are all too familiar with the possessing problems on the roads of metropolises. Whereas there is an opinion that governments can reduce car accidents by regulating the speed level, I completely believe that they should pay more attention to adequate city planning. Had governments shifted their emphasis to this area, it has been helped to substantially decrease the rate of roads accidents.