Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by many that information should be shared as much as anyone can in the research field, business and the academic world, while others think that some information should be kept secret as they are too important. In my opinion, it is better to keep the information hidden before an idea is executed successfully. We are living in an era where hacking is immensely popular. Being an occupant of this age, if a person comes up with something innovative and try talking to people about the idea for better development, that person could run his own business or accomplish research on a topic just by stealing someone other’s thought. Besides, another possibility could be blackmailing. Since we live in a technologically developed age, threatening others has become a common issue these days. If the information one shares contain any personal data, he might suffer from blackmailing. As a consequence, he might lose all his achievement he got through the endeavour. Therefore, no idea should be shared until the task pertaining to that information is not implemented. Regarding the argument of keeping information hidden, it is quite risk-free. As no one is sharing their ideas, there no chance of getting stolen and also the risk factors of not being successful are less. Because if one comes up with a new idea, he doesn’t have to face that much competition to survive in the current market. Furthermore, he does not have to be worried about his privacy. Hence, the information must be kept a secret. To conclude, though there are some benefits of sharing with people such as spreading knowledge, the probability of danger is much higher in this case. Thinking about all the potentially grave dangers and taking the risks into account, information is better to keep in one’s mind rather than sharing with others.