Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to their society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Humans are part of small local as well as large global communities, these societies require them to contribute to the growth of other society members. This is a debatable issue that whether taxes are a sufficient contribution or a person should perform other duties for the welfare of their society. Although, I believe that, only paying taxes is not adequate yet this essay would discuss both views. On the one side, taxes are part of one's hard-earned income, which are collected by the government. This money is later spent on the development of the community in various ways such as, free education, better medical facilities, improved public transport services, and so on. Thus, people have already played their roles by paying taxes so they are no longer liable for further help. On the contrary, monetary help is not always useful without active participation in developing the community. The money paid to the government in form of taxes can not be compared with personal help to society members. For example, government funding can provide improved police service or medical treatment, however if no one stands up for a domestic violence victim's rights and inform the police about it, then those services are useless for that member. Hence, only a responsible individual can improve the quality of life in society. Along with it, I firmly agree that even though a citizen pays taxes yet they have much more duties regarding their societies. There are many charities or organisation which take care of orphan or homeless people. These are places where fundings barely reach, but they play an important role in society, thus voluntary work for few hours by each person can help these places to make the world a better place to live. In conclusion, it can be said that taxes are important for developing nation but for local,communities personal involvement and help is needed.