Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodworking should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family. To that extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been quite an obvious discussion around the topic of education. While some people believe that schools should focus only on academic subjects and passing the exam, I would argue that schools should not focus only on academic learning but also teach some practical skills to students. I will explain my reasons in this essay. There is no doubt that learning some practical skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodworking can benefit children to know essential life skills. This is because pupils will know how to prepare easy foods for themselves, and they can sew their own clothes, which can be important for their future. For example, recent news in Japan reported that 80% of students who learned cooking skills from schools can help their parents prepare their own meals. As a result, children can gain new practical skills from school. It is worth pointing out that schools can teach practical skills better than parents and friends. This is based on the fact that most parents do not have enough time and knowledge to teach practical skills such as cookery and woodworking to their children. For instance, in Australia, many colleges have subjects to teach their students about woodworking skills which can improve their knowledge, practice and creativity and also, provide opportunities to develop their woodworking skills. Consequently, students will have the opportunity to learn woodworking skills, which can be important to their future careers. In conclusion, we can observe that schools should not focus only on academic learning but also teach some practical skills to students. Overall, I firmly believe that students should not learn practical skills from their parents and friends, and they should only learn from their teachers who have enough knowledge and experience.