Teenagers who commit serious crimes, such as burglary or murder, should be treated in the same way as adults who commit crimes. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

In today's world, more and more people consider that it would be beneficial to treat teenagers who commit serious crimes in the same way as adults. Despite this, others disagree with this opinion. Firstly, this essay will discuss the advantages of this tendency and, secondly, it will analyse its disadvantages. To begin with, on the one hand, the advocates of this idea believe that this approach will show youngsters that they have the same level of responsibility for their actions as more mature people do. This is because of the fact that not only do all humans have the same rights but also if teens are not punished for their commitments, they might feel freedom and will continue doing violence. Therefore, the law should be identical for all criminals and the younger part of a population should understand the responsibility that they have in order not to feel forgiven when committed such serious crimes as murder. For instance, recent research has shown that after being freed more than 10% of teens continue living criminal life. However, on the other hand, this system is likely to ruin a child psyche and lead to a variety of health problems. The main reason for this is that not only do teenagers have a weaker nervous system that might suffer from such kind of situation as imprisonment but, moreover, they might have some mental disorders in the future. As a result, if young humans will be treated in the same way as more mature people they might not be able to go through all these difficulties and it, in turn, will ruin their whole life. For example, one study has illustrated that about 15% of teens get various psychological disorders when cannot cope with the pressure they receive. Eventually, to conclude, I disagree with this approach and, in my opinion, a teen's nervous system is completely different from an adult's, and it is unfair to judge these 2 categories of criminals similarly since it will have an unequal influence on them.