The precentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The number of young generations in Western countries who are suffering from obesity has a 20% increase over the last decade. There seem to be two main effects stemming from this issue and some reasons are behind it which will be discussed in this essay. Probably, the major cause of the sharp growth in the number of overweight children is their tendency to have fast food rather than healthy and home-made food. Compared to previous years, people -most importantly youngsters- prefer not to spend their time cooking a healthy meal and their choice is ready-made and fast food which is not a valuable alternative. Additionally, it is generally acknowledged that due to modern technologies, offspring's lives do not need much physical activity as their energy-taking games are substituted by computer games. They spend long hours behind their electronic devices every day. For instance, we witness that every little child has his/ her own mobile phone and plays mobile games during the day. There is ample evidence that the problem of putting on weight has some unreturnable influences on children's health. The age of getting chronic diseases is falling down day by day and the expenses of curing are extra pain on parents' necks. Moreover, if this situation continues, the next generation will not be able to live for long years. Therefore society will face a shortage of workers in the future. A case in point, is the concerning rate of population and illness sufferers as a result of an unsolved problem: "overweighting". Consequently, this essay discusses the rising rate of fat children in the Western world which is caused by having too much unhealthy food and not doing enough exercise and shows that it will result in fewer workers and more patients in the next decades.