Q: Many people think living in high-rise apartment blocks makes people feel lonely and unhappy, while others argue that it has advantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

While some people opine that, individuals have been rendered sad and isolated owing to reside in skyscrapers, others, however, assert that these many benefits have stemmed out of living there. I intend to discuss both these views in the following paragraphs and then mention my opinion. To begin with, the first school of thought believes that high-rise apartments have incorporated stress in the lives of people living there because of the lack of interaction among the neighbours. It is generally observed that most of the people who reside in such apartments are working ones, who barely get a chance to talk to their neighbours due to their hectic schedule. As a consequence, they begin to feel mentally sick sometimes when they remain alone at weekends or holidays. To quote an example, an average employed person living in a flat might get strained if he has nobody to share his happiness with, especially birthdays, promotions and many more occasions. Thus, this makes it obvious that However, on the other hand, the second school of thought opposes this notion and endorses the fact that residing in a skyscraper is advantageous for individuals since these are comprised of many facilities. First of all, people can get the items of their daily need from the supermarkets present in the blocks of these high-rise apartments. Secondly, such blocks also provide fitness arenas like gymnasium, playgrounds and swimming pool to the residents so that they remain fit. In this way, with the medium of these amenities, these societies give the opportunity to individuals to come in contact with each other in case they have an interest in socializing. I opine that in the era of inflation, these housing complexes are a great option to get shelter and standard amenities within the budget. This is primarily for a fact that flats are not way cheaper than traditional houses but also very near to all the facilities. This is especially true in the case of metropolitan cities, where the cost of a house is in million dollars in contrast to an apartment, which can be bought at 100000 USD. Therefore, in such a scenario, it is unlikely for a salaried middle-class person to purchase a house, while he can happily enjoy all the amenities in a two-bedroom flat. Hence, residing in high-rise apartments is undoubtedly a better choice. In the gist of the above contents, it can be concluded that, although a few individuals might feel stressed or lonely by the life of housing complexes, yet it seems to be more conducive in terms of facilities and the monetary aspects.