Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

International events are significant for a country as they contribute to the economy of a nation. It has always been a debatable issue whether an international sports event has been hosted by the government or not. However, there are two different views about the same. This essay will elaborate both points with some relevant examples. On the one hand, many people believe that organizing a foreign event has numerous benefits. First and foremost, it will boost the economy of a country. In other words, an international event attracts a huge amount of investment through domestic as well as foreign funds. For example, in 2019, India held a worldwide football tournament and myriads of MNCs invested an enormous amount for its promotion as a result the economy of India increased tremendously. Secondly, it also raised the standard of living of a country. To illustrate, a survey conducted shows that the general public likes to follow the lifestyle of an eminent athlete, consequently the status of people get raised. Nevertheless, despite the above merits, there are some drawbacks of the same. To begin with, the government of a nation, gives importance to such games and ignore the other significant factors such as education, medical and infrastructure. For instance, in the UK, the state, spent a huge amount of public funds on hosting such events. Therefore, if the same money was utilized in developing educational institutes and medical centres, it will benefit the whole society. In addition, It has a negative impact on juveniles, who without thinking and discussing with elders, strat to follow their famous celebrity. To conclude, Although international events are necessary for the development of a nation, the government should balance the investment cost among all important sectors.