Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Technological advancements have opened the door to social media and limitless sources of information. As of now, a simple smartphone can do wonders for entertainment. With a captivating source of media and entertainment, it is no wonder that children can spend hours every day on their smartphones just to quell their boredom, even more than adults with their lack of responsibilities. While this is a good way to keep children occupied, there are other valid health and safety concerns in the minds of many. To begin with, the internet through the use of smartphones is an open door to creative resources, learning opportunities, and many more that can benefit children ’s development. Social media can encourage them to be more innovative and practice their critical thinking and other skills they would otherwise not learn at school. This method of communication can let children stay connected with their family and friends, allowing them to make new ones along the way. On the other hand, the internet is a space where everyone; both adults and children, can travel indiscriminately. Interaction with anyone can happen, even with those of harmful intentions. Letting children go about their way without proper supervision can be the same as letting them roam a minefield. Not to mention the health concerns connected to the exposure to light from the screen and the posture a child typically has when focused on their phones. While these can be solved with parental supervision, a child spending hours every day is simply impossible to monitor with a parent’s tight schedule of responsibilities. In conclusion, despite the advantages thanks to the internet’s storage of information, the possible harms a smartphone can cause to an uneducated child is a proper concern