Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attraction. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people propose that a price discrimination strategy should be adopted by tourist attractions to charge more on foreigners. I do not think this is fair to the foreign tourists and wise to the local economy. On one hand, fairness is in question if there were any price discrimination. Foreign visitors are no different from local ones. Regardless of one’s origin, every tourist should pay with the same scale in order to contribute to maintenance of the attraction. It is unfair to charge foreigners more as they may travel only once in their lifetime to the destination. Furthermore, these strangers have paid substantial effort to travel to the destination. Their passion to the place should be welcome and encouraged rather than demotivated by a higher price. On the other hand, the proposal may seem to patronize local visitors, but it is in fact not beneficial to local economy in the long run. Foreign tourists do not only pay visit to the attractions but also stay at local hotels, dine at restaurants and shop around. All these consumptions help to create employment and sustain a steady income for local residents. Moreover, many researchers have found that foreign travelers tend to spend more money during their trips than local ones. Therefore, higher price of the attractions hinders the desires of these travelers and may well result in unwanted economic consequences. In conclusion, charging a higher price serves as an obstacle for foreign travelers. It is unfair for those who come from far way and also unwise in terms of economic development. I do not think it should be considered by any travel destinations.