In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that imposing high taxes on unhealthier food is becoming a crucial and indispensable solution to shrink the phenomena of obesity, which has increased dramatically this decade, and health problems due to excessive eating intake. I agree that the government should take advantage of higher taxes and use it to fund the health and sports sectors in the country. At the outset, health organizations need funds in order to treat individuals who suffer from health issues, due to unhealthy eating habits, as well as obese patients. In other words, the government should provide a proper funds and use the taxes paid by fast food companies to support financially health centres, hospitals, and organizations to provide high-quality treatment for individuals. For instance, a study has been revealed recently showed that 75% of reported health problems are related to poor diet. Thus, funding health sectors by using the countries’ income from taxes is a must. In sharp contrast to this, not only health sectors should be funded, but also sports clubs, centres, and gyms should also be considered. This is because that medical treatment not only the possible solution to tackle this problem, but also sports activities such as cardiovascular, bodyweight, and heavyweight workouts are playing a vital role in helping society and the government to overcome this issue; therefore, the government should consider funding sports sectors as well. For example, many sport centres are not accessible to any individuals due to higher subscription fees, thus, if these centres have been subsidized by the government, then more people will be able to subscribe and start exercising. Thus, the government should play a crucial role in developing a healthier society. To conclude, while I completely accept that fast food companies should pay higher taxes, I strongly believe that this income ought to be allocated equally to fund the health and sports sectors.