Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community as well as the government take to meet this demand?

The population is proliferating at a rapid pace across the globe and, as a result, the demand for a basic necessity such as food is inclining. The reason behind this is the wastage of food; however, it can be rectified if the international community aware the public about the drawbacks associated with the food crisis. The primary reason behind this is the rapid population growth, which is attributing to the increased/ growing consumption of edible products. Besides this, people are consuming less amount of food and wasting more, and this is happening as they don’t know the value of food. The diverse variety of food available during buffet in any hotel is also a reason for concern, as individuals tend to waste more in this case. An article published in - ‘The Times’- stated that 20% of food is thrown in the trash every year by a hotel’s restaurant during buffet lunches and dinners. Thus, the disposal of eatables is the major reason behind this. The innovation of the latest machinery for the high crop production can be taken care of by the international community as well as the government to meet this emerging demand. Moreover, manual harvesting of crops is not only a time-taking procedure but also an environment polluting one; therefore, the latest equipment will ease the work of farmers. If the farmers get aid from the foreign countries in form of updated farming technologies, they would have a sense of contentment in continuing their agricultural work owing to less workload. In addition, the government can encourage people to actively participate in the agriculture business by providing them loans at low-interest rates, which in turn will benefit the cause. Finally, awareness campaigns should be held to educate people about the repercussions of the food crisis. Various studies revealed that more than 20% of farmers in developing nations are quitting their profession every year owing to the lack of support from the foreign community as well as the government. In conclusion, although the high demand for food is caused due to the increasing population, the foreign community can promote the profession of farmers by equipping them with the latest types of machinery for easing their work.