Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One might think that enforcement of mandatory community service by youths during their free hours will be beneficial to them and the community. I highly disagree with this opinion, because teenagers have the right to choose which skill they want to progress in their free time. In addition to that, community development is the responsibility of the government. Freedom to select what interesting thing to do on the youths precious time can further motivate them to excel. This is because every person is unique and has various points of preference. It drives them to invest time and focus in achieving certain tasks. A better approach is to present the tasks and programs that can help them hone their present skills. For example youths with anti-social behaviour, it will be unfair for them to be required to work in a community that requires social skills. Anti-social presons can be productive in solitary jobs like computer programming. Obviously, teenagers development through forced labor in the community will never be productive for them. Since this is carried out in a way that youths dont have a choice, results are expected to be in low compliance. Only a low percentage of this age-group can tolerate uncompensated labor, most of them spends their time in social gatherings, games and even sports. In contrast, youths who work usually would expect to have salaries, as this will be the motivating factor for them to buy their needs and wants at this stage in life. As an example, nowadays, highschoolers are active with social media, they spent a huge number of hours on these platforms, learning, communicating, and at times take advantage to earn extra money, that is why community work will be the least option for them. In conclusion, there are much better alternatives in honing the youth, among those options, community required jobs are not the best. Teenagers can be productive and beneficial to the community by doing things where they excel and enjoy the most.