Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Museums and art galleries are no doubt integral parts of a place's history-keeping as well as means of education. Some museums and art galleries require visitors to pay for entrance, while others are free of charge. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages of charging admission fees for museums and art galleries and presents the author's personal opinion. There are benefits of charging visitors for entrance. This include additional income in the tourism sector as well as funding for researches related to the museum objects. Additionally, the entrance fees can also give economical value to the museum or gallery and the presented objects. Furthermore, for art galleries, the money can be given to the families of the author, while for museums, it can be donated to the founders of the objects or the respective owners. Most importantly, charging admission fees would help the place to be safer from theft, as it would prevent people with insufficient money to get in. On the other hand, there are drawbacks of admission fees as well. Firstly, charging visitors with entrance fees means that not everyone can afford a visit of museum or art gallery. Secondly, there are also people who visit those places frequently as a part of their studies or researches, many of them are students. Charging every museum visit would give another burden to the said people. Personally, regarding entrance fees, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. In my opinion, museums and art galleries are educational places, which can improve the literacy of the people. Therefore, I think it is better to give visitors a free pass for entrance. Instead of requiring an entrance fee, people can be given a choice to donate voluntarily. As for keeping objects from being stolen, I believe there are better solutions such as installing surveillance cameras.