Developments in science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The environmental issues have been partly caused by all kinds of applied sciences and technologies, For solving environmental problems, some people choose to simplify living, some people think that science and technology are reliable. This essay will analyze two side views and give a clear opinion. On the one hand, It is a practical way for ordinary people to protect the eco-system by simplifying daily lives. There are many things that we can do for preserving our blue planet. For example, We can work from home, as well as we would tend to purchase local foods like fresh vegetables and meats, rather than buying foreign or nonlocal commodities. Because frequent transportation inevitably causes more CO2 emission. This is an essential reason why we should simplify our lifestyle in order to reduce exhausting gas emission. If everyone can change thinking pattern to live, work and study simply, the environmental issues will be solved easily. On the other hand, many applied sciences and technologies have served human for a long time. For example, aircraft were invented by scientists, and manufacture by engineers. The planes have been flying for many years and departing from many locations on the Earth. However, the gas emission of aeroplanes has a serious impact on the environment, and lead to the greenhouse effect. This effect successively triggers many natural disasters, including global warming, drought, flooding and so on. Fortunately, many cutting-edge technologies have been invented by scientists and technologists. These new applications can help humanity to cope with imbalanced eco-system problems. For example, Internet applications can help people to reduce long-distance travelling by flight, such as the ZOOM, a kind of video conferencing tool. As well as the new recipe of fuels can also assist aircraft to reduce releasing fumes. In conclusion, I optimistically believe science and technology can solve environmental issues.