Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, governments have been keen on launching awareness campaigns against crimes. Some people have suggested that released criminals are the best advisors on this topic and that they have the ability to convince youngsters of the hazard consequences of committing a crime. I totally agree with this idea because I believe that ex-prisoners who became productive citizens can speak about their experiences to discourage others from breaking the law. In this essay, I will discuss my point of view thoroughly. Teenagers are easily able to be persuaded by someone who can speak from real experience. Since adolescents are reluctant to direct advice from adults, the best way to raise their awareness towards the individual and social criminal impact is to listen to stories of ex-offenders. For example, these people can reveal the reality of how they had been involved in crime, the dangers that they had encountered in their life and prison, where they have been rehabilitated to good residents. The illustration of these hardships deters teenagers from having any misconception of the glamorous criminal life. In other words, the vivid and brutal nature of these stories has a powerful impact on youngsters’ minds. Furthermore, criminals who were subjected to rehabilitation in prison are the best to speak of the importance of education and health. These citizens have the ability to set examples of how education could secure a better life for the individual and society. Youth can learn the paramount effect of focusing on their studies and education thorough meeting an ex-offender, for instance, who had the chance to graduate from school while being imprisoned and secure a well-paid job after becoming released. Moreover, adolescents can learn the dangers of criminal life on their health. Drug addicts, for instance, who were cured in jail can show the hazards of drugs on health. Therefore, meeting ex-offenders and listening to how becoming educated and healthy has remarkably affected their lives makes youth cherish their opportunities to become educated and healthy. In conclusion, in my opinion, people who served a prison sentence and were rehabilitated could help teenagers refuse to commit crimes. If schools can offer monthly or annually meetings between students and released criminals, students will be able to learn about the dangers of crime commitment and the importance of becoming productive citizens.