Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people a nation should self sustain there food needs rather than importing from outside. I fully agree with the statement above which have a wide variety of benefits. Strong agriculture based countries posses many benefits which helps the country to improve there economy. To begin with, when the country begins producing there needs internally it increase the demand for local farmers which will ultimately help them to uplift there income. As and example, local famers can sell locally produced vegetables at a better price than imported vegetables with fresh quality, hence the demand will go up for such vegetables. Secondly, when the agri sector improves it indirectly exapnd, and create more job opportunities in all the sectors which are involved and will indrectly directly help to reduce the unemployment problems in rulal areas in developing countries. In addition to this, the government will start investing on the infrastructure development in the areas such as transportaion, water and electricity which will be a important factor for the lifestlye of these people. Furthermore, native farming methods can be improved to put a stop to the usage of chemical fertilizar, which is becoming the rootcause for increasing level of cancer patients in the world. As an example, researchers have found that majority of the cancer patients had excessive amounts of substances which is included in such fertilizar which have lost many lifes. Finally all of the above will help a country to reduce there importaion cost and increase there foreign reserves which can be vital for a stable economy. In conclusion, countries must invest in producing there food needs internally, since it will not only help to have healthy citizens but also help to boost the economy of a country quickly.