Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

Crime is considered to be a stigma on the growth and prosperity of every nation and society around the globe. Some folks believe that it is an uphill task to stop illegal activities however, others argue. In my opinion, I advocate that proper measures from the government and efforts from society will drastically ameliorate the situation. This essay will discuss the preventive measures in detail. Firstly, the authorities should impose stringent rules and hefty fines on the citizens so that anyone should think multiple times before indulging in any illegal activity.Because of the hard punishments, fewer people will get involved in criminal events which directly results in reducing the crime rate. To illustrate, in Dubai if any person is found doing theft anywhere he or she will be given either a lifetime imprisonment or a death sentence and that's why all businesses and the public feel secure and safe. Secondly, society should step forward and accept criminals back into the community by providing them with equal job opportunities and respect like normal people. This will support these people to start their lives respectfully again from scratch and reconnect back to their families and neighbourhood without feeling ashamed and rejected. For instance, in the UK there has been a 35% reduction in the crime rate because of the rehabilitation program run by the communities and authorities which helps criminals to learn new skills and use them to grab a job or start a business and climb the ladder of success. In conclusion, I assert that cognitive effort from the government and communities will utterly help to put a pause on the increasing hateful activities and make the world a healthy and secure place to live.