Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is notable that the majority of victual goods contain an immense amount of carbohydrates which contributes to several health issues such as diabetes and obesity. It is believed that by increasing the prices of manufactured sugary products, people will tend to tone down their sugar intake. From my point of view, I think this is not a good idea and disagree with such an imposition on sugar-sweetened food and drink. One of the most significant problems is that the poor families' expenses can become very costly. The reason for this is that sugary edibles are prone to be cheaper than healthy ones since sugar is a low-cost addition. To cite an example, various kinds of organic consumables are always more expensive than synthetically made food and beverages. Therefore, if there is a high taxation on sweet-toothed items, those not wealthy will struggle to make a living. Furthermore, addiction can not be fully exterminated by raising the cost of saccharine goods. For these sweet-addictive groups, it makes no difference whether the cost is high or not, they would still lay their hands on sweeteners to satisfy their appetite. Hence, they will definitely find other ways by allocating some of their funds to buy more affordable snacks which are in small portions. So, the attempt to explore alternative options for their sugary menu does not solve the problem but only intensifies it in another way. In conclusion, promoting high charges on sugary products will fail to tackle the problem of consuming the detrimental amount of carbohydrates. Neither people with low incomes nor individuals who are "overdosing" can benefit from hiked prices. Instead, a better approach should be made and must be convincing enough to allow people to stop their extreme consumption.