Many people are choosing to move to cities. Why is this happening? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, more and more people have the tendency to leave their hometown to pursue a modern and magnificent life in big cities. The phenomenon causes us to gain a number of merits and demerits also. This essay will give a clear discussion about the reason why this figure happens and whether the advantages of it can outweigh the backwards. To begin with, there are a lot of explanations for the trend that rural people move to cities. First of all, they have a desire to change and improve both their standard and cost of living. Due to the fact that big cities are where a wide range of occupations can be found, most of the population from all parts of the countries come there to make ends meet. Moreover, some families migrate to the city to give their children a better chance to approach such a high-qualified education. To illustrate, it can be seen in some recent surveys that people who move to town have their life ameliorated a lot in comparison with the last few years. The researchers concern if country folk continued to settle in cities in such a great number like this, city dwellers would have to face up with a range of new problems and disadvantages. Although these migrants may play an essential role in the development of urbanization in the city, they bring us much more serious issues than ever. Firstly, the more citizens live in a city, the more traffic jam will occur with a long line of cars and motorbikes. The increase in the number of vehicles results in more fumes and kinds of pollution such as air pollution and noise pollution. What is more, not every rural people can find a permanent job in a large city, so there will be more unemployed people. Lack of money and employment leads them to do illegal things to fight for lives. It means the rates of crimes is going to rise considerably in the next couple of years. To conclude, we can see that more people choose to move to cities may pose more drawbacks than benefits.