More people are stressed today than ever before. What are the causes of this stress? What can be done to address this problem ?

In recent times, our society has been plagued by anxiety and depression. This stress can be induced by several factors such as money, work, family responsibilities, relationships, personal well-being, job stability, housing costs and personal safety. While we cannot control all the aforementioned causes - we can still make some healthy lifestyle changes such as yoga, meditation or indulge in recreational activities to relieve ourselves from the stress and thereby improve our quality of life. To being with, anxiety and depression have detrimental effects on our mental health and physical health. Depression and chronic anxiety accelerate ageing, acute stress affects information processing in our cerebellum and higher stress levels lead to a higher mortality rate. Secondly, stressful events in particular with the children can alter an individual's behaviour. For instance, a child growing up in a stressful environment is more likely to become an alcoholic or a smoker. Lastly, the prevalence of stress disorders such as PTSD - Post Traumatic Stress Disorder can cause anguish and can lead to self-inflicting harm. One effective solution to deal with stress is to meditate, mindfulness meditation soothes the mind and helps us in managing stressful situations. A recent study shows therapeutic interventions are more effective in reducing stress levels. Another solution is to have pets or indulge in recreational activities such as trekking, swimming or music. For example, a person is more relaxed when he is with his pets or while singing in his shower. Last but not the least, individuals with acute stress disorders such as PTSD should consult a professional psychiatrist for their betterment. In conclusion, stress has become unavoidable in this Information age. It is up to us to take care of our well being by incorporating healthy lifestyle choices and food habits to balance work and our mental health. Handling stress appropriately can tip the scale toward success. So it is high time that we all start managing our stress levels.