Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

Many main street stores have gone out of business nowadays. I am going to explain the reasons why this happened the reason why this happened and whether this development will have good or bad outcomes. Firstly, I think that the reason why so many high street shops have closed is the rise of many colossal corporations and franchises. Those colossal companies are way to strong for the local stores to compete with them. For instance, in the clothing industry, the mainstream franchises have monopolised the market. The reason is that the bigger the economy is, the bigger the number of products they produce is and by producing more, each piece costs less to manufacture. Therefore, colossal companies can sale the same product in a way cheaper price in order to tackle the competition. The bankruptcy of the local stores was an it will be a really negative development. Since so many shops have closed, many have lost their job and become unemployed. Additionally, the monopolisation of the market always works against the consumer. For instance now that the garment industry has been dominated by the few giant corporations, nothing stops them from raising their pricies unreasonably high, since there is no competition to stop them. As a result, consumers would pay for the same exact product way more. In conclusion, so many local shops are closing due to them being unable to compete with the mainstream intercontinental companies that are monopolising the market nowadays. This has resulted in the rise of unemployment and the increase of the prices, which damages mostly the working class and makes their life more unstable.