Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is an increasing trend of commissioning the elders of a family to an old age home or nursing centres. While there are some benefits of such an arrangement, there are some evident pitfalls. This essay will discuss both, the advantages as well as the disadvantages of this trend. The main advantage of putting aged people in a nursing home or a care centre is that they can be better looked after. This is because, the staff at such institutions are adept at handling the elderly, and have ample experience to deal with their requirements. For instance, one such facility has an in-house doctor who performs regular check-ups of the overall health of the elders. Another advantage of sending senior citizens to old age homes is, the opportunity for them to live amongst like-minded individuals, which is very essential for their mental health at this stage of their lives. When they are surrounded by people of their age, they feel comfortable and are able to share their experiences with others who can relate to them, thereby making them feel happy. A recent study carried out in this regard concluded, that a significant 45% of senior citizens residing at such places feel happy and content. However, this trend is not without its share of disadvantages. The biggest one being, feeling a sense of isolation. Not everyone wants to stay away from their families and some people are put in such homes against their will. Hence, they feel extremely lonely and this inadvertently leads to depression. A staggering 60% of senior citizens at these institutions suffer from anxiety and bipolar disorder, according to a survey. In addition to this, the other negative impact this trend seems to have is the maintenance of service levels by such institutions. Due to a rising number of people being commissioned to these facilities, the staff is not able to cope up with the demands of the members and work under severe pressure situations. As a result, they are unable to provide the requisite level of attention and care to the residents.  As was reported by a local newspaper, a care centre had to shut its operations as it was not able to cater to the needs of the elderly, due to the sudden rise in the number of people being signed up for it. Therefore, to conclude, it is evident that more and more old people are being sent off to third -party care providers instead of being looked after by their family. This essay discussed two main advantages of this trend, namely - better physical health care and positive mental health of the members. This essay also highlighted the core disadvantages of this new shift i.e. people suffering from depression and the deteriorating service levels of these institutions.