Some people think that children should aim to be the best at what they are doing while others believe it is not necessary for them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on whether or not children should try to be the best in the activities they pursue. In my opinion, while trying to be the first can be important for certain activities, it is not always required in every situation and, in fact, can be detrimental in some cases. On the one hand, there are many reasons why striving for one’s best is an important quality in children. First, it can help encourage children to put in 100% effort. Hard work is a trait that is beneficial in life as it can support success academically as well as in the working world. Secondly, without the drive to be the best, children may not develop the motivation to do well in what they do and simply settle for mediocre outcomes. With a high goal in mind, children may be more likely to work hard and do well in what they do. On the other hand, some people believe it is not necessary for children to attempt to be the best. This could be motivated by the fact that not every activity requires a child to be the top performer. For instance, when playing with other children, being the best is irrelevant. Always trying to beat others can erode social relationships and dissuade collaborative behaviors. In addition, because there is only one “ first place,” only one child can achieve that position. Consequently, other children may suffer from low-self esteem and become discouraged if all of the emphasis is placed on being the best. In conclusion, only some situations require children to aim for the top in what they do such as academic settings since this attitude can foster a sense of persistence. However, not all situations require this approach. In collaborative situations, aiming to be the best can be detrimental, and it can also harm children ’s self-perceptions.