In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

Nowadays musical preferences are going through changes among young people and this issue has become quite controversial. In this essay, I would like to identify the causes of this situation and propose some corresponding solutions. The central reason behind the decreasing interest of the younger population in classical music is the fast pace of life caused by technological progress. Traditional classical music is being replaced by the so called fast-food entertainment offered by youtube and other streaming services. As a result younger generation can no longer appreciate more complex sophisticated compositions due to shorter attention span. In response to this trend new musical genres are being created and gain lots of popularity. At the same time, classical music has not lost its relevance through the centuries, so classical music is a part of our cultural heritage, which must be protected. For example, the American Psychological Association conducted a study that showed the positive impact of classical music on mental development in infancy. Namely, children who listen to the works of Mozart are 17% calmer than their peers and 30% more show curiosity about the world. Thus, by encouraging the interest of young people in the classics, society preserves its cultural heritage and benefits from its positive aspects. In conclusion, I would like to note that classical music is certainly an object of cultural heritage that must be preserved for the benefit of society. But at the same time it is predicted that new tendencies in art and music will become more influential amongst future generations.