Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the most enjoyable activities in today's world is shopping. According to some people, this is a positive development, while others disagree thinking shopping has negatively impacted us. This essay will explore the reasons why shopping is popular and how it affects both society and individual. It is hard to deny that malls are increasing in numbers over the past few decades making it hard for people to avoid visiting them as a fun activity. In fact, nowadays, every neighbourhood has a small shopping centre if not a big mall. Furthermore, shopping centres have everything for everyone regardless of their age making it become a fun activity for the whole family during weekends. In some areas, even gaming centres and kids activities are all located inside a shopping mall. Thus, the easy accessibility of shopping makes it become a fun popular leisure activity for all. However, the impact of shopping on individual and society as a whole is not always positive. According to some researches, shopping increases Dopamine, a hormone in our body responsible for happiness. When people have stress, they tend to shop more to enjoy the surge of Dopamin. However, sometimes we buy items we do not need. Later on, we have to get rid of them and is considered a waste of money. Also, shopping for fun can cause lots of garbage into the environment causing global warming and negatively impacting the natural habitats. To sum up, it seemed hard to avoid shopping as it is considered a fun activity for the majority of the population. Nevertheless, we can not ignore its drawbacks on both household finance and how it can indirectly affect the earth.