People are living in a ‘throwaway society’, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

In the contemporary era, we live in a society where individuals use a product for a short period of time and then discard it away. Firstly, this essay would discuss the reasons behind this trend. Secondly, it would discuss the issues that it would cause to the environment. Since we live in a consumerist society. Thus, people purchase new products even if they do not need them. If a product is not working, then instead of repairing it individuals tend to buy a new item. Furthermore, advertisements are also encouraging individuals to buy new products. If a person is watching a television commercial, then the following day he or she would order the item, which they saw in the ad, online. For example, Apple, which is a world-renowned smartphone company, released the ad of the latest iPhone. The next day they received twenty thousand orders on their website for the new iPhone. This phenomenon would cause harm to our environment. Since to create a product energy and resources are required. Therefore, if we develop more products, then a significant amount of energy is required. This means that powerhouses would burn fossil fuels to generate electricity. As a result, a considerable amount of carbon dioxide would release in the atmosphere. Which would increase the temperature of our planet. For instance, In Punjab, which is a state situated in India, to meet the demand of various textile industries, The Punjab State Electricity Board burned twenty-ton coal per day. To conclude, this essay discussed that people use a product for a short duration because they have a habit to buy new items and they are influenced by various commercials. Further, it discussed that this could be harmful for our environment.