Nowadays a growing number of people with health problems trying alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctors. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this modern world, it is becoming prevalent to rely on the internet or non-expert’s opinions for treating at home. With the advance of technology, people have access to widely uploaded information and can use them as remedies. Although, this alteration in an individual’s behaviour can be useful in terms of minor illnesses, may lead to catastrophic outcomes in case of a serious disease. On the one hand, humans have been using antibiotics and other chemical medicines widely, and as a result, their bodies have become resistant to these substances. Gradually, with the return of home-made remedies and people’s access to online websites, their dependence on industrial ailments decreased. In addition to this, these remedies can be pretty helpful for a simple cold or headache, and they can feel better by applying an ointment or drinking a ginger smoothie. On the other hand, apathy toward chronic or serious aches can result in disastrous events. For instance, you can treat a normal headache at home with a simple massage, but you cannot ignore a chronic one because it may be a sign of something more important such as a migraine. Needless to say, what doctors see and prescribe is more reliable than any other thing owing to the fact that their prescription is based on experimental tests and many years of experience. As a whole, this procedure has two sides and can be appropriate for a specific situation. All in all, I believe it is more of a negative development, and people should be informed about this matter through media and other platforms.