People spend too much money on family celebrations such as birthdays and weddings what is the importance of these celebrations?Do you think people really spend too much?

Spending money on the celebrations has become a status symbol for many people. These days, not only celebrating birthdays in a grand way but also, destination marriages are the new trend in many countries. Firstly, these events involve family gatherings and give chances to family members to build a strong bond with each other and create beautiful memories. In a modern society, where everyone is busy in their own world, functions like marriages bring family members together under one roof and give them an opportunity to spend some quality time among themselves. For instance, a recent article from “Times of India” shows that 70% of the families spend maximum time with one another in a marriage. Secondly, these ceremonies have been generating employment for several businesses like event managing organizations, photographers and catering services. If people will not celebrate such occasions, employees of such business will lose their jobs. For example, during a pandemic situation like Covid-19, where social gatherings were restricted, many event managing companies had to shut down as they were facing losses. Nevertheless, many people spend a fortune on weddings or birthdays just to show off their wealth and power in the community. Money spent on throwing such parties can be used for social work. This wealth can benefit a certain part of the society who is struggling for basic needs. Recently, a rich couple in Kerala had a simple wedding and diverted the wedding amount to an orphanage. This amount facilitated free education for 100 orphanage students. To conclude above, giving huge parties can be beneficial for strong family bond and for the event companies, but this money can be utilized for the betterment of humanity. Hence, in my opinion, the masses should minimize the cost of such events and instead, help the poor population.