Prison is the common way in most countries to try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that prison is not enough to handle the problem of crime and that education is a better solution to decrease the crime numbers. I agree with that point of view, and I believe that education is effective to counter crimes in a couple of ways. Firstly, a significant percentage of crimes are committed by illiterate people. They simply are unaware of what is legal and what is not. For example, individuals who build houses in their land without building permission, or trade without a license, are committing crimes, though they are not criminals. Hence, they need to be educated about the legal system, which will be hard for an illiterate person to understand. Therefore, providing good education to the common people enhances their behaviour, and prevents them from falling into any illegal actions. Another way is education helps people to find suitable jobs and stay away from the streets. To illustrate, the average daily income of a handyman is barely enough to provide food for his family; thus, he may engage in illegal activities to gain more money to fill the gap of his needs. Namely, a person with good education has better chances to get a job with a lucrative salary, which will be enough to sustain himself and his family. In other words, education gives the people the safety of a decent job that saves them from the crime path. To conclude, I agree with the statement saying that better education is a more effective solution against crime. That is because, education gives individuals a better understanding of the laws, and it paves the way for better jobs that change their course of life.