It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

Some people believe that scientific subjects are not appreciated by learners. There are several reasons contributing to this problem, as well as potentially drastic long-term effects on society. Nowadays a small number of peers are most likely to embrace a humanistic approach in their studies. According to a recent survey conducted by “The Guardian” in 2024, nearly 79% of British students tend to avoid science in their path due to its level of complexity. For example, children need to deal with exercises that require a high level of calculation that most of the time are not able to resolve. Another decisive factor to this regard resides in the lack of job opportunities. Learners are not eager to continue their studies or focus on something considered to be hardly useless as today a significant number of hr do not require scientific knowledge. The choice of not studying science in educational institutes will have long-term effects. Giving priority to humanistic subjects such as literature or languages implies a decrease in the deficit of one’s intelligence quotient. As an example, If students are not involved in learning natural phenomena or solutions to problems, they would face laziness in daily situations. Consequently, the lack of education of certain thematics in the field of science may bring to an important illiteracy of one’s cultural background. In addition, as it has been shown in the last episode of the programme “What do you know” conducted by BBC, one of the players failed to be awarded as he was not aware that the earth rises in the east and sets in the west. In conclusion, the option of not including science in one’s study path, ranging from its level of complexity and lack of job opportunities, has certainly contributed to harmful consequences on society in terms of brain neuron impoverishment and incompetence of people regarding knowledge.