In some countries around the world men and women are having children later in life. What are reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

With the advent of modernization, many individuals are opting to have kids later in life. This essay will examine in detail the reasons for this choice such as increased costs of child maintenance and prioritizing careers and also the negative effects of these such as stress due to societal pressure and emotional detachment and trauma it might cause in family life. Firstly, as the world has progressed economically, the cost and standard of living have increased. Many individuals struggle to lead a cost-effective life with the income earned as the expenditure is higher than the earnings. So it can be quite challenging to bear children and fulfil their needs. For instance, nowadays the educational institutions for children are costly. Additionally, in this modern,world more couples are putting their career first and some consider having a baby as detrimental to their success.Most people are career-oriented and they put off starting a family for the sake of attaining high-income work opportunities. For example, if a person is offered a better job position in another country, they might find it easier to migrate if they don't have offsprings. However, society can put immense pressure on couples who choose to have children later in their life. In most orthodox communities, people believe that married individuals should have offsprings as soon as possible to make their family complete. So it might raise eyebrows among society as there is a stigma associated with couples with no offsprings. Moreover, some partners might find their relationship to be stagnant if there are no children. After an age as life gets monotonous,emotional detachment and tensions might arise in their relationship. This can result in trauma and eventually separation among couples. To conclude, many people nowadays are opting to raise infants in their later life as it is expensive to bring up a child and they want to concentrate on their careers first. This might enable society to pressurize the couples and also eventually partners might feel emotionally detached.