Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

It is often argued that advertisements are inciting people to spend money on unnecessary things, while others believe that it is essential because it makes their lives better by introducing new products. As far as I am concerned, I believe that advertisement is mandatory in our life. On the one hand, advertisements could be one of the main reasons behind the overconsumption society we are living in nowadays. They are surrounding us everywhere; on the TV, on the street, on the radio and even in newspapers and books. Thus, people could buy a product just because it is presented in a way that gives them the desire to buy it even if they do not really need it. On the other hand, Advertisement has a crucial role in improving our lives. By introducing new and innovative products, the quality of our daily life increases and tasks becomes easier to fulfil. To illustrate, the evolution of telecommunication in the last 10 years is extraordinary and fascinating. Phones have been improved rapidly in a way we can now have a video call with anyone in any place in the world without having to pay anything and this could not be possible without advertisements. Thanks to advertisements, the available choices in the market are huge and the competition between companies led to decreasing the prices. To sum up, the massive advertising industry that exists nowadays led to overconsumption and pushes people to buy things that they do not need, but in my opinion, the benefits outweigh the risks because it is making our life easier.