Life has become much more stressful compared to our parent’s generation. As a result, stress-related illnesses are increasing around the world. Why is stress such widespread in the modern world and what do you think can be done to overcome the problems caused by stress?

With the modernisation of life, people are getting more prone to stress-related illness such as depression, anxiety or insomnia. Without a doubt, we can easily distinguish between life now with our parent's generation. Our parents enjoyed their living as it was a relaxed one. This essay will discuss the causes of an increase in stress and profer solutions to it. One of the major reasons responsible for the universal rise of stress is growing competition. For example, parents put pressure on their kids to get the first rank which further creates a stressful situation for children during exams. Other reasons are increasing desires and maintaining status in society. This further puts pressure on people and they tend to work extra hours to meet their needs. For example, having the latest model of I iPhone is considered a status symbol. Lack of meeting the expectation of parents or not being able of attaining the desires, results into getting depressed. Depression can further cause anxiety, insomnia and suicidal thoughts. However, there are ways of tackling this situation. Firstly, the government should run awareness campaigns about the negative impact of stress. Secondly, schools or universities can include an extra class for maintaining mental well being. Similarly, NGOs can be established specially for encouraging people to approach Psychiatrists, friends or family members in case of any kind of tension. In conclusion, although stress-related problems are common government and society can mutually tackle this condition by creating awareness about the problems emerging from pressure in day-to-day life.