Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health education and prevention. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is universally acknowledged that governments use an extensive amount of their budgets to finance the health care system and the efforts made on trying to prevent health problems are no sufficient. I totally agree with this statement. Reasons to support this opinion will be stated in the next paragraph. On the one hand, though I agree governments blow enormous sums of money in medical management, I understand that it is quite difficult not to spend this money when saving people's lives. Primary care is a fundamental right and it should not be denied to anyone, hence a significant proportion from a country budget goes to guarantee this right. For example, diseases such as cancer can cause the death of thousands of people as it impairs different major organs of a human being and this is rather difficult to prevent. Therefore, it is essential to have a proper system that can support the community when affected by one of these illnesses and this is possible only with a high volume of money invested. On the other hand, there is a general consensus in raising health awareness together with prevention plans could greatly benefit the national economy and society's well-being. Although despite knowing about the importance of this fact, some governments are still not making enough efforts in providing resources to ensure everybody is aware of health dangers. For instance, vaccines were created in order to protect individuals from future diseases, nevertheless due to some economic reasons, some countries can not guarantee that every child in the country is vaccinated as it corresponds. Moreover, the government should enforce that the population is well-informed about the dangers of unhealthy eating habits and an inactive lifestyle. The merge of these factors might lead to a significant decrease in sick people and subsequently, to a lower number of hospitalizations and use of medical facilities. In a nutshell, there are grounds for believing that local authorities prioritize the healthcare system in the national budget rather than focusing more on trying to prevent and aware people of the detrimental conditions that some unhealthy habits can place them in. Although a transition from the former to the latter is highly recommended, this is a major challenge for all.